Reflection

So here it is, the end of 2016. To think all the way back, to where it began. This year has brought some of the best and some of the worst experiences. I’ve graduated college, building relationships with people that I know will be in my life forever. I’ve struggled immensely with my anxiety and mental/physical health to the point where I thought I had lost myself for good. I was with a man whom I fell in love with and whom broke my heart. I lost both my aunt and my uncle to cancer, and my dog had a seizure. I had one of the best summers, where it takes 4 hours to get to Connecticut for a country concert. I completed my own research, and read some amazing books. I turned 21 with both new and old friends that have my back no matter what. I carried a club, and founded my own. I got to go on some awesome family and friend vacations. I learned more about myself than I ever thought possible. The list can go on, and on. But this year has really challenged me mentally and physically. It broke me down, worn me out, shattered my heart. But I don’t regret a second of it. I loved harder than I ever have, I worked my ass off to have the credentials I do, and remained true to my family values.

 

However, 2016 has made me realize that I never put myself first, or focus on me. I’m constantly focusing on someone else. And so my wishes for 2017 is for the year to be about me. About advancing myself professionally, mentally and physically. To jump start my career doing everything I can for the areas I’m passionate about, and find my way through the professional world. To take the time and care for myself mentally, ensuring that I check in and avoid losing my mental health by monitoring my anxiety and depression. I want to focus more on my physical health, and fill my body with nutrients and vitamins. I want to jog. I want to play the piano, and talk to people about my aspirations and hopes for the world. I want to write about everything I see. I want to inspire everyone around me and execute the changes I’ve always wanted to make. I’m going to smile and laugh. I will welcome sadness and feel pain. And I will take those emotions and turn them into compassion and stealth. I’m going to get to know myself better than anyone ever has. And I’m going to fall in love with me.

 

So here’s to 2017. May you be filled with health, love, and prosperity in so many ways.

 

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

